Some Climbing Action above San Sebastián

On a trip to Monte Igueldo in November, I noticed the “Canopy Donosti Aventura” high ropes course on one of San Sebastián’s hills. Since then, I’ve been dreaming of visiting the place myself and admiring the fantastic views from high up in the trees. It was finally time to visit it with Abigail, the Scottish language assistant, this Friday.

We had a relaxed start to the day, as our high-ropes-course adventure didn’t begin until 12:30pm. When we saw a large group of students at the meeting point, we initially worried that we would have to share the course with them, but things turned out quite the opposite: We were the only visitors in the early afternoon and had everything to ourselves. After a short introduction, we immediately started the Flying Fox Parkour, which consisted of no less than fourteen ziplines and three obstacles.

My favorite part of the course was the view of the bay of San Sebastián. I wanted to just stay on the small plateau forever.

However, there was still a second course, so we carried on. This parkour only included three flying foxes but nine obstacles, some of which required a lot of courage or at least huge leaps.

After that, we certainly more than deserved the huge bánh mì at Gosea. Who would have thought that I would find an incredibly delicious version of the Vietnamese sandwich in the Basque Country of all places?

San Sebastián certainly hasn’t seen the last of me today, and I’m looking forward to sunnier (bathing) days at the beautiful Basque coast in the coming months.

Leave a comment